A lot of things happened to me this year like graduating from college, and I know I owe you my readers some updates from this blog, and so this post will be the first of many posts that I will be doing (hopefully!).

I think it would be an understatement to say that Baguio is my happy place. Having gone there even just for 3 times only, I could somehow tell that it’s one of the places in the country that I will never ever get tired of going. I don’t know but Baguio has something in it that makes it more exciting each time I come back.

This time, I was with my Velez SSC family. It was somehow like a treat for ourselves, a treat we somehow deserved, after a yearlong battle in managing the student council ( Well indeed, it is really never easy to be juggling council responsibilities and studies at the same time).

Prior to our trip however, just like anybody else’s trips (at one point or another), there were some unfortunate events that made some of our fellow officers to back out from the trip. Instead of 11 of us going for the trip, there were only 7 of us who went on. Sir Ben, Myself, Stacy, Fitz, Grace, Tinee, Tonton.

Day One — It’s the Climb.. to Baguio

Our flight to Manila was in the morning of May 30, and did I mention that I still came from a night duty (serving extension hahaha) that day? All for my Baguio trip’s sake, I rushed from the hospital straight to our rendezvous because I am that excited to go back to Baguio again.

All set for Baguio! (Photo by Sir Ben)
All set for Baguio! (Photo by Sir Ben)

Just before lunch time, we arrived in the capital, but we had to overstay there because the person who we earlier contacted to fetch us in MOA had to change vans. All in all, we left Manila at around 4 pm. It was a bummer though ‘coz had we left earlier, we would have had the time that day to roam Baguio city. Indeed, some plans won’t be followed thus one has to be flexible.

So these are some things that happened in between:

Touring around MOA.
Touring around MOA.
Dairy Queen-ing at MOA.
Dairy Queen-ing at MOA.

It was about almost midnight when we were settled in our apartment in Baguio. After unloading our stuff, groceries (we decided to buy groceries in Manila so we won’t bother ourselves in Baguio anymore, it was nice that guests were allowed to cook in the apartment that we had) and other things, we went on to roam the ukay-ukay shops in the city center, and I got lucky that night that I was able to find a strawberry taho vendor, I’ve been wanting to taste strawberry taho again.

Busy kitchen that night after arriving and settling in our apartment.
Busy kitchen that night after arriving and settling in our apartment.
Grace skimming through some stuff sold at an ukay-ukay store.
Grace skimming through some stuff sold at an ukay-ukay store.
That strawberry taho that night. :D
That strawberry taho that night. 😀

After an hour or so, we headed back to the apartment. Plus, I was able to haggle a jacket for only Php20.00 (~$0.5).

Day Two — As if tomorrow wouldn’t ever come

The subtitle for the second day of our trip would really match the things we did during the whole day. It was as if tomorrow wouldn’t ever come because we went to almost all of the tourist spots to see in Baguio. We made sure to make the most out of our 2nd day. It was tiring, but it was surely fun.

We tried to wake up early..but failed. So we ended up leaving the house past 6 in the morning. Nevertheless, the driver of the van we hired assured us that we are still on track, and we can still see the different spots in Baguio within that day.

At the Bell Church.
At the Bell Church.
With the home-made strawberry ice cream vendor in La Trinidad.
With the home-made strawberry ice cream vendor in La Trinidad.
After a hard day's work?? Nah, not really, just after we harvested some strawberry at the Strawberry Farm in La Trinidad, Benguet.
After a hard day’s work?? Nah, not really, just after we harvested some strawberry at the Strawberry Farm in La Trinidad, Benguet.
The triumvirate (Fitz, myself, and Stacy) in Baguio Botanical Park
The triumvirate (Fitz, myself, and Stacy) in Baguio Botanical Park
Of course, who will forget The Mansion.
Of course, who will forget The Mansion.
Trying hard to be Igorots at the Mine's View Park.
Trying hard to be Igorots at the Mine’s View Park.
At THE Philippine Military Academy.
At THE Philippine Military Academy.
And we also enjoyed boating at Burnham Park.
And we also enjoyed boating at Burnham Park.

See? I wasn’t lying when I told you that we toured most of the tourist destinations of Baguio City in just one day (look at my shirt, it’s the same in all of those pictures hahaha). Is there something more tiring than that? We also stopped by at the Cathedral, had lunch at Volante Pizza, bought pasalubong at some souvenir shops. I got tired but again, it was fun seeing these sites again, and realising how much they have changed/developed over the years. Clap clap clap to the local government of Baguio.

 

Day Three– Kid, again

Day three of our trip was set aside for Enchanted Kingdom, a theme park somewhere in Laguna, kilometres away from Baguio. Because it was far, and we needed to be there before lunch time, we had to leave Baguio early in the morning. Yet again, we failed to wake up early. Who wouldn’t if you have exhausted all your ATPs in touring Baguio’s tourist destinations for only one day.

Anyway, we were lucky it wasn’t the worst day for traffic volume that day and there was a new expressway which would cut the hours of trip shorter. We arrived in Laguna just few minutes before the theme park would open. And the rest was history.

Both Tinee and Grace seem to be enjoying their swan ride.
Both Tinee and Grace seem to be enjoying their swan ride.
First ride of the day.
First ride of the day.
Stacy in front of the carousel.
Stacy in front of the carousel.
One of the best rides in EK!
One of the best rides in EK!

 

After that crazy, adrenaline rushing adventures at Enchanted Kingdom, I capped my day with an intimate dinner with my elementary friends at one of Manila’s best restaurant Manila’s Best Korean Restaurant, Ye Dang Korean BBQ and I really enjoyed their potatoes (side dish).

See, Ye Dang is the BEST KOREAN Restaurant in Manila. I. TOLD. YOU.
See, Ye Dang is the BEST KOREAN Restaurant in Manila. I. TOLD. YOU.
With Ayana (beside me) and Rezzmah, both ladies are good friends of mine.
With Ayana (beside me) and Rezzmah, both ladies are good friends of mine.

 

Till my next update,

Blog Signature 1

What say you?

