TRUST OUR BUILDINGS. The orientation speaker repeatedly told us to trust the Japanese engineering and architecture of buildings as these are earthquake-proof. Photo by: James Annjo Salomon.
TRUST OUR BUILDINGS. The orientation speaker repeatedly told us to trust the Japanese engineering and architecture of buildings as these are earthquake-proof. Photo by: James Annjo Salomon.

June 23, 2013

I didn’t actually know I had trust issues with the buildings in Japan till during the general orientation of the program. Hahahah. “Just trust us, just trust our buildings” reassured the speaker during the program when he discussed about the earthquakes and the different things we should do during the earthquake.

But kidding aside, I actually appreciate that they are emphasizing on the earthquake part, since not a lot of the delegates had experienced an earthquake. Singapore delegation, for example, claimed they do not have earthquake. I kept mum, since Philippines almost always had an earthquake.

During the orientation, I have met with my fellow ASEAN delegates. It was nice of them (JICE, the organizer) that they have made it a point this time to group nations with other nations unlike in the previous programs where they would only group the participants per country.

Talkative as I am, I immediately brushed off any anxiety and started talking to them. Before I know it, I was already making friends with people. It is really great thing to note that these people, who are by the way not a native English speaker, are trying their best to communicate with us in English. “One family, one ASEAN” I told myself.

LISTENING CLOSELY. Roomful of ASEAN Delegates to the JENESYS 2.0 Program. Photo by: James Annjo Salomon.
LISTENING CLOSELY. Roomful of ASEAN Delegates to the JENESYS 2.0 Program. Photo by: James Annjo Salomon.

After the general orientation, we had a group orientation. There I came to know my group mates even more. It came as a surprise for me to know that we’re only two people majoring in Medical Field. Almost all of my group mates are majoring in engineering. From nanotechnology to civil to industrial, I felt I got mistakenly grouped.

Nevertheless, my group mates didn’t make me feel less welcomed. We even exchange some ideas about what we are majoring. They taught me what nanotechnology is all about, or what quantum physics is about. I also told them how you test samples of people from urine, blood, feces, sweat or smears.

It was surely a great day, and I have made a lot of friends.

As I went back to my room and plunged into a hot bath once more, I contemplated about many things. One, that no matter how diverse people are, there will always be things that would connect us –as for what thing, that, I will find in the coming days. Two, that hot bath is so relaxing I nearly slept in the tub.

What say you?

