581924_10151681053942905_354241394_n

As I am writing this entry in my journal, I found myself seated in front of this native store, which sells expensive stuff here at the Mactan Cebu International Airport.

I’m facing the entrance of the pre-departure area where there are a lot of people rushing to get inside. I got surprised I was no longer asked to take off my shoes, although they asked me to remove my belt. “Much better”, I told myself.

It has always been my practice that whenever I travel, especially when I am talking a flight going to my destination, I should be in the airport at least 4 hours before my departure time. I don’t know but perhaps it was life and common sense that taught me never to follow Filipino time when traveling. I’m afraid to be late or be denied check-in during trips, you can just imagine how expensive the tickets would get should that happen to me. I once had this close-to-being-denied-check-in experience years ago at our hometown’s humble airport, you can read it here.

Early bird as I am, I’m already at the airport at around 6:00 am although my flight is still around 8:20 am. But things were not good for me this early in the morning. The taxi driver who brought me here immediately rushed off as soon as I got off the cab. Fixated in the state of shock and awe, I was not able to do anything, even shout or run, name it. few seconds later, I realized I had to do something because the taxi was taking my luggage away!

In panic times, I usually tell myself to keep my calm and composure. So yes I did keep it. What a pleasant surprise it was for the airport guard, who I forgot to ask who his name was, to notice the incident and immediately hot hold of the cab’s plate and its body number.  He immediately radioed his colleague and ordered to stop the car from getting outside the airport vicinity.

I was really palpitating so hard, afraid that my luggage could not be retrieved anymore. Few moments later, the taxi returned with the driver asking me for an additional payment for his effort and gas. I of course declined to pay and ranted that it was not my fault since he was rushing off while I was still trying to ask him to open the compartment portion of the cab.

Lesson? Always be quick, you can never tell if people are going to take advantage of you.

If I was not able to retrieve my baggage, I surely would have cancelled and not push through in joining JENESYS. But God has a plan on why he allowed these things to happen.

MERCATO. One of the places I look forward to going whenever I'm in Manila. Photo by James Annjo Salomon.
MERCATO GRILL. One of the places I look forward to going whenever I’m in Manila. Photo by James Annjo Salomon.

Fast-forward now, I’ve always been fascinated with Manila although most people I know would disagree with me. Manila really is something that I always look forward to going, it never fails to surprise and entertain me. Not to mention the food at Mercato!

So you can just imagine how excited I am to go back to the capital after how many months.

MOA Signing. The National Youth Commission along with some selected delegates had a ceremonial signing of the Memorandum of Agreement. Photo by Reesa Facon.
MOA Signing. The National Youth Commission along with some selected delegates had a ceremonial signing of the Memorandum of Agreement. Photo by Reesa Facon.

Later that day, there was a heavy downpour of rain while I was on my way to Bayview Hotel. It made me think twice, whether to push through with this or not. It was actually my first time to feel hesitant in joining an activity. Perhaps it was because the program is going to be miles away from home or just perhaps because of the things I left behind. But I decided to go, and push through with the activity.

After the pre-departure orientation, I went out with my high school classmates. Where else would we go but in Mercato? Although I was already very full, who could say “no” to the oversized barbecues and isaws (chicken intestine), after eating at Mercato, we spent the rest of the night catching up.

At 3 am, we all parted ways leaving me worried if I could wake up at 6 am, our scheduled wake up time.

CATCHING UP. Ayana, Golda and I smiling for the camera, taken at Mercato. Photo by James Annjo Salomon.
CATCHING UP. Ayana, Golda and I are smiling for the camera, taken at Mercato. Photo by James Annjo Salomon.
What say you?

