Many times have I heard about this author yet I resisted buying his book because I didn’t really know him. Perhaps it’s the typical impression you would have whenever a name’s new to you. Whenever a name’s alien to you. Haruki Murakami has been a long time novelist dating back to the 1980s but it was not until recently that I came to know of his works, yes, because of pop culture. Particularly because of the 1Q84 novel of his.

One day I was searching for that 1Q84 book, but to my surprise, it was a bit expensive and since my money wasn’t enough, I chose another book of Murakami, and that was how I decided to get the “Norwegian Wood”, instead of the 1Q84. I expected less from it, but I was wrong since it was an equally good book.

The story is about a college boy who has a deep love towards an introspective young lass. However, their love for each other is complicated with the death of the young man’s best friend who happens to be the boyfriend of the girl. The boy started adapting with modern life and at the same time with the loneliness and isolation from the girl. But the girl couldn’t take the pressures and responsibilities of life thus she retreats herself further into her own world.

The conclusion of the story was sad. While I was nearing the end, I was trying to imagine placing or creating another ending for the story, not that I am not satisfied. But yes, it’s not always that we would have a happy ending. It was surely a poignant story of a young man’s first, hopeless, and heroic love.

 

What say you?

