Lagaw sa Bacolod

(December 20,2011)

From Iloilo, we arrived around 4 pm in Bacolod City after taking the RORO trip from Dumangas. We immediately went to SM City Bacolod to have our bags kept at the traveller’s lounge. At exactly 5 pm, we were finally settled. We did not really have any plan on what to do in Bacolod City since we were not able to follow our itinerary. I was afraid too of pushing with the plan on going to Silay for we might not be able to get back early and be late for the night trip to Dumaguete City. Instead, we ate early dinner at the Manokan Country, where you can find the famous Bacolod Chicken Inasals. The mother of all inasals throughout the country. We did not let the chance slip because for sure, we would regret it if we would miss to taste how it is like when they do the chicken inasals. I finished 1 pecho, 1baticulon, 1 softdrink and 2 rice and paid only less than Php150.00.

San Sebastian Cathedral


After eating, Rezzmah and Krizel decided to watch Mission Impossible 4 while I insisted on touring around Bacolod City. Around 6 pm, I started with the nearer one, the San Sebastian Cathedral. I did not take pictures inside the church only on the outside.

Bacolod City Plaza

Fronting the San Sebastian Cathedral is the Bacolod City Plaza, at that time, it was surrounded by tiangge stalls where you can find bits and pieces at a low price. In the heart of the plaza is an edifice where near the roof of it were names of famous musicians written.

 

Bacolod City Plaza at night

Lagoon

The lagoon is a famous place where people go in Bacolod. I remember my mom telling me when she was in high school, she used to go there too. The lagoon is still fascinating as ever, with a fountain located at the center of it and the two famous golden carabaos facing it. During my visit, there were a lot of students practicing a dance number. A large Christmas tree was also placed just few meters away from the lagoon. One negative thing I noticed though is that there are too many lovers having public display of affection in the not well-lit parts of the park, some were kissing, and some were doing God-knows-what.

The famous golden carabao fronting lagoon’s fountain.

Provincial Capitol

Fronting the lagoon is the Provincial Capitol of Negros Occidental. Upon seeing it, I remembered the National Museum of the Philippines. The story that the building tells is that of the history. The architecture is well detailed and you can really appreciate the efforts of preserving the original design of the building. I’ve seen a lot of provincial capitols now but only a few had maintained the original design of the buildings, one of which is the Negros Occidental.

Negros Occidental Provincial Capitol

University of Negros Occidental-Recoletos

I visited also the alma mater of my mom. During our last visit, we only passed by here, so I made sure that the next time I would visit Bacolod City, I would really set foot in the alma mater of my mom. I got shy in taking pictures around but I just observed the school, it is a big school and it offers a lot of degrees. My mom graduated her BS in Mass Communications in UNO-R.

University of Negros Occidental- Recoletos

Old Bacolod City Hall

The old Bacolod City Hall really is so small to accommodate all the transactors from the city. It is situated along the city center and surrounded by commercial establishments. Good thing they already have relocated it to the new Government Center, which unfortunately I wasn’t able to visit.

Old Bacolod City Hall

 The short tour around Bacolod City went pretty easy because I know how to speak Ilonggo. Had it not because of it, it would have been a bit hard for me. Bacolod and Negros will always be home for me because this is where my mom spent most of her childhood days, though it’s already my nth time to be here, I always feel excited getting around the city, it feels like every visit is my first time, and whenever I hear people speaking in Ilonggo, it always is pleasant to the ears for me, unlike when I hear them in Pagadian wherein the feeling is a bit absurd.

What say you?

